top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew P G

Dhaka: Chandrima Udyan

Updated: Mar 17, 2023


Bangladesh Parliament Building

This guy was hilarious

Chandrima Udyan, Dhaka. March 2012


Moon Park


On my first visit to Dhaka, AH was trying to give me a sense of the whole city. One of the nicest places we visited was Chandrima Udyan, across from the super-modern National Parliament Building. The place also hosted the tomb of the assassinated, former Bangladeshi President, Ziaur Rahman. We went near the end of the day and it was filled with people - a lot of young couples and families with kids. The place was festive and, for Dhaka, very well maintained. Not a lot to see or do, it still provided the best vantage point of the parliament building since casual visitors couldn't approach it. The gardens in the park were well-manicured and, although a little "overloved", compared to other parts of Dhaka, it was quite open and clean. No wonder people chose to bring their kids there. Since there were kids, a lot of guys were walking around with their stores literally on their backs, selling toys and inflatables to the children. The man pictured above was parading around with his huge balloons and colorful footballs with such an air of seriousness considering what silly items he was selling. I think that made his show all the more appealing. He was honestly flattered I took his photo.


We sat on the edge of the Ziaur monument and I was surprised how many people approached us "just to talk". At the time, not many tourists passed through Dhaka, so I assumed I was something of a novelty. People were so kind and polite when I compared the experience to the same situation in China 20 years earlier where fellow travelers and I were virtually surrounded (uncomfortably) by curious locals in the streets of small cities. Chandrima Udyan was a lovely introduction to a country most of the world knows little about.


Finally, as I was taking photos, a young guy approached AH and asked if I would take his photo. I asked if I should email it to him later and AH laughed and said, "no, he just wants you to take his photo". Well, why not? I gave AH my camera and stood with my very pleased, new friend to have my photo taken with him. Whoever you are, I still have the photo and I still remember the experience. Perhaps it wasn't such a strange request after all?


From 2014 onward the park has been closed: According to a 2014 Dhaka Tribune article, "Illegal establishments, drug addicts, hookers, muggers and petty criminals have robbed the park of most of its beauty."


My friends and colleagues said it was more connected to closing off a space near the parliament where unruly political protesters might gather. I feel lucky I saw it when I did with its friendly people, a dancing balloon merchant, and the random guy in the photo.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 by Samsara. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page