top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew P G

France: Clock, Musée d'Orsay, Paris



June 1997


On my first visit to Paris [see: first trip to Paris], MAP and I discovered the big clock and cafe on the rooftop level of the Musée d'Orsay. We both loved it and it was a surprise moment for me in the City of Light where many of the stops had been to places "long anticipated". I had not even heard of the clock cafe in the (at the time) relatively new Musée d'Orsay. We sat down for a coffee and enjoyed the experience.


Fast forward a few years and I was back in Paris for a blow through visit with Brian. Brian was disappointed with just about everything in Paris on that trip, unfortunately. One exception was the clock cafe. Even the unhappy Brian had to admit that it was an incredible space.


In the years following, any time I heard people were traveling to Paris, I insisted they go to the "clock cafe" in Musée d'Orsay. Many friends and acquaintances did, in fact, visit and they all reported back to me the same comment, "Loved it". I don't know what it is about sitting behind that massive timepiece that is so compelling? For me it felt like being on a movie set - a behind the scenes location that few "average" people could ever visit.


I have so many favorite places in Paris, but the clock cafe ranks high among them. On a return visit, I am sure a poorly ordered café au lait served by a Parisian waiter who barely tolerates tourists awaits me.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 by Samsara. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page