top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew P G

USA: Chicago


A Break from Travel in the Windy City


[from FB posts: July 18-20] (edited)


After my rainy blow through Chicago, I wanted to spend more time on the next visit.

I was also tired from traveling for nearly a month so I spent five glorious, sunny days in Chicago. It was truly a good ending to my journey.


Millennium Park (home of "the bean") and the Palmer House Hotel (one of my favorite old American hotels) were both high on my list to hang out and get photos.


The building details! I think Chicago might be one of the best cities in the US for architectural detail. It may even surpass New York City for exterior ornamentation. I took a stroll down by the museums on the lake and got the idea I should take a river cruise later.


I walked up to the Water Tower and then then over to the beach. I made a stop at the Navy Pier where I wanted to pick up the Chicago River Cruise.


Solo cruising on the Chicago River - a highlight of the trip! It got even better - on ex-Chicago resident, DV's, recommendation I visited the former Chicago Public Library. Wow!!!! It is a shame it didn't continue as at least a historical library in the system, but it is lovingly maintained.


In sum, those nice days in Chicago reminded me how much I missed living in a big city. I am not sure if I will again and I am not sure I have the energy.


I am sure happy I spent the time in Chicago!! What follows is my time there in photos rather than words. I hope you enjoy seeing three days in Chicago via my phone camera.


Hotel room view

First chicken wings in 2+ years!

Chagall

Building detail

towers downtown

Art deco!

Lyric Opera

Deco detail

West Lake Street Bridge

West Lake Street Bridge

West Lake Street Bridge

Chicago Riverwalk West End

Chicago Riverwalk West End

Chicago Riverwalk West End

Chicago Riverwalk West End

Chicago River South Branch

Lyric Opera

Outer Drive Bridge

Marina Towers on the Chicago River

View from Lakeshore East Park

DuSable Harbor

view from DuSable Harbor

How about their phones??


Maggie Daly Park

Maggie Daly Park

Maggie Daly Park

BP Pedestrian Bridge

Jay Pritzker Pavilion

Crain Communication Building

Millennium Monument

Jay Pritzker Bandshell

North Michigan Avenue

Cloud Gate (aka "The Bean")

The Bean

The Bean

The Bean

Crown Fountain

Crown Fountain

N. Michigan Avenue reflection @ Crown Fountain

Palmer House

Palmer House

Palmer House


old elevator doors

Cook County Building

Cook County Building

Atrium Mall

Som Tam

old door detail

coronavirus on my trail

old clock and mural

North Clark Street Bridge

The Gentlemen Statues

Bridge plaque

Field Museum

Field Museum

Field Museum à la Acropolis

Field Museum

Downtown from Field Museum

Downtown from Field Museum

happy guy

Monroe Harbor

"Flamingo" Calder

Home Insurance Building - world's first skyscraper

under the el


Picasso Sculpture

Mercantile Exchange

Rookery Building

Rookery Building

Rookery Building

Rookery Building

Oliver Building

Willis Tower

Water Tower

Water Tower

John Hancock Building

Bas Relief, Wrigley Building

Wrigley Building

Tribune Building

Tribune Building

Polk Brothers Park, Navy Pier

Children's Museum, Navy Pier

Centennial Wheel, Navy Pier

Sculpture Garden, Polk Brothers Park, Navy Pier

Sculpture Garden, Polk Brothers Park, Navy Pier

Downtown from Polk Brothers Park, Navy Pier

Residences at St Regis

Oak Street Beach

Ohio Street Beach

Michigan steams like a young man's dreams....

Chicago River Cruise - I was alone on the boat!

Chicago River Cruise

Chicago River Cruise

Chicago River Cruise

Chicago River Cruise

Chicago River Cruise

Chicago River Cruise


Nasi goreng!!

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Old Public Library

Art exhibit, Old Public Library

Art exhibit, Old Public Library

Another corner clock

Chicago and Northwestern Railway Bridge

Three forms of transport - Chicago River

Chicago and Northwestern Railway Bridge

mural

549 South Wells Street parking lot decoration

Southbank Riverwalk

Southbank Riverwalk

Chicago River

River Esplanade Park

Al fresco dining on the river

Chicago Stock Exchange Arch

Reflections, 444 West Lake Street

River confluence

Navy Pier

Scrabble

Navy Pier

Navy Pier

Navy Pier

Skyline from Navy Pier

Marina Tower

Happy but tired at the Navy Pier

Waterfront at Lakeview Park

Dearborn Station

Dearborn Station

Dearborn Station

Dearborn Station

Cook County Courthouse

Cook County Courthouse

Cook County Courthouse

Cook County Courthouse

Outer Drive Bridge Railing

West Lake Street Bridge

running out of steam, but still happy

Monument with Standing Beast

Beer and blue chips on the river


...until the next time, Chicago.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page