top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew P G

Library of Congress

Updated: Mar 17, 2023


Great Hall, Library of Congress. September 2021


My favorite American building


The grand design of the library's Thomas Jefferson Building was based on the Paris Opera House and seemed to proclaim America's faith in learning and knowledge as vital strengths in upholding the republic.

With its synthesis of architecture, art, decoration and ambition, the Library of Congress's Jefferson Building ranks among America's greatest achievements. When it opened November 1, 1897, writers could not find enough ways to herald the new day they saw for American civilization. The grandeur of the building, its size and scope, the noble artwork and fascinating sculpture left many Americans breathless. Many saw the new building as the fulfillment of American intellectual promise and the perfection of American art. One said that it was "likely to long remain unrivaled in this or any other country," while another opined, "Not until I stand before the judgment seat of God do I ever expect to see this building transcended."

In the late 19th century the architectural style of the Jefferson Building was said to be "Italian Renaissance." Today, it is recognized as a premier example of the Beaux Arts style, which is theatrical, heavily ornamented and kinetic. It is a style perfectly suited to a young, wealthy, and imperialistic nation in its Gilded Age. The materials — marble (15 varieties), granite (400,000 cubic feet), bronze, gold, mahogany — were expensive but would last a thousand years.

... At the building's pinnacle the "Flame of Knowledge" is gold leafed, as was the copper dome until the 1930s.


Based on the above, unabashedly gushing description of the original Library of Congress building, I feel justified that I nearly swooned when I entered the first time. I was 18 and had virtually been nowhere. Here was a building magically transported from Europe to Washington, DC and it was FREE to wander around in. In those days, anyone could go into the reading room as well. The oft-recited adage at Georgetown was " yes, our campus library is not so big, but we have the Library of Congress at our disposal". After that first visit, I felt that statement to be absolutely true!! If all the glitz and glamour of 19th century opulence were not enough, there, in the Great Hall, just before entering the Reading Room was one of the extant copies of the Gutenberg Bible. How could anyone doubt that this building was the pinnacle of, well, EVERYTHING? The best part seemed to be (sadly), the place was always empty.


My older self still loves the building. The Reading Room is now closed and is by appointment only. More people visit these days because the grand galleries host more exhibits (poorly in my opinion). The Gutenberg Bible is still there, too. However, my older self finds a little amusement in the national library of the United States being based on an "opera house" (but I do love the Paris Opera House just as much as the Jefferson Building). If people ask me what to visit on a trip to DC, I immediately point them to the Library of Congress - it remains dear to my heart.


Two recollections of the building:


In my college years, my arch-trouble-making-companion, CWL, and I were wandering the building and somehow got into a tunnel connecting the Jefferson building to the newly built, and not yet opened, Madison Building across the street. We took an elevator up into the new building and it stopped. We were stuck. Since I am claustrophobic in my later years, I thank God it happened to my younger self. CL and I had no idea what to do. Well, there are phones in elevators, right? I picked it up and someone answered on the other end in a somewhat surprised voice. It asked,

"Where are you?"

"The Library of Congress" (duhhh, I know).

"Which building?"

"You know the really beautiful fancy one?"

"Yes"

"Not that one, the new one".


That conversation actually happened. I was not being a smart-ass either. I was terribly afraid we would get in trouble. Luckily, CL was the best good luck charm on earth and when we were discovered and they noticed his "disability" (egad, if they only knew the man was "super-abled" not "dis-abled"), all was forgiven and we were ushered out of the building quickly. Lesson learned - don't roam around almost-completed buildings in Washington, DC.


Later in life I met friend of a friend, JP, who worked at the Library. He explained at length what he did. I found it all fascinating and I have to admit I felt a tinge of jealousy at his working in one of my favorite buildings doing "research" for members of congress. What was amazing about his explanation was that most of said "research" just wound up gathering dust on someone's desk, unread (or these days in some un-opened email attachment, no doubt). If anyone wants to lose faith in the government, no matter which party, consider that members of congress (Library of CONGRESS, remember?) are provided a LOT of information before they make any big decisions and they literally ignore it! (sigh)


Long live the potential to improve our knowledge in a lovely building anyway. During pandemic walks, I told myself when passing by the building,, "I don't need Paris, I have the Library of Congress". As the description above reads, The materials ... were expensive but would last a thousand years. Long live our national library!






6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 by Samsara. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page