top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew P G

UAE: coda



Dubai International Financial Center. July 2018


[from FB post: July 6, 2018]


Reflections


I am in hot Dubai ending a journey that also started in a hot Dubai about 5 years ago. I am a firm believer that we never stop learning in life. What was my takeaway from this time?

Maybe my years in Saudi Arabia taught me that point of view might really be our only reality. What is an intolerable situation for some might be pure bliss for another? I am not sure any of us ever knows reality. We can only interpret experience through our own lens. For me, there are no absolutes any more.


I also learned most certainly that when you fall down, the only person who can help you get back up is yourself. If you stay down and complain, that is where you will remain. And getting up IS tiring. Did anyone ever promise life was going to be endless rainbows?


And finally, I think the dystopian future of films is now. This is the zombie apocalypse. This is a disaster film. We are on the verge of something catastrophic and man-made. I fear I will live to see worse things, so I remain thankful that I grew up in an era of prosperity and relatively ignorant bliss. And on that thought I refer to what I said above... you have to make the best of any situation. The responsibility to do that rests on YOUR shoulders. No one else. Other people don't make your problems. You do.


If you want to improve your life, help others. Your life will improve almost immediately if you do. You can only get back in life what you yourself invest.


I am heading home for another "life software update".


Please do not switch off your computer while my new updates are loading.....


I can only add to this that I was so unfortunately correct in my worry that the world was on the verge of something catastrophic. I double down on two things - make the best of now, because nothing is assured and help others in their life journeys. These two things will make a better life for anyone no matter what their situation.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page