top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew P G

UK: Richmond, London


Richmond, London. April 2012


On one of my visits to London, Adrian FVdR and I were exploring along the banks of the Thames and ended up in Richmond. I don't know why, but I immediately took to the place. I liked the waterfront, the locks on the river, and the bridge connecting it to Twickenham. Located between two large parks, Richmond made for a nice oasis in built up London. Little Richmond Green off the High Street was a perfect town park of the type one might find in any English village except, of course, this was Metro London.

We took our lunch in one of the posh town eateries and I insisted to treat. We had a lovely time and when it came time to pay, my card was declined. I wasn't over the limit - this was back in the days when the USA was changing from "swipe" to "chip" and Europe was far ahead in that game. Basically, the restaurant only took chip cards and I still had a swipe. Oh well, thank God Adrian could put it on HIS card.


I told Adrian I really loved this part of London. He laughed and said, "you and everyone else". Apparently, I was in good company:


Tom Hardy, a couple of Rolling Stones, Pete Townshend of British rock band, the Who, David Attenborough, Jerry Hall, actress Amanda Holden, Rick Astley, and Richard Ashcroft all live in Richmond. Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie also bought a $16-million home here in happier times.


Not that I had any plan to move to London, but leave it to me to pick a place that I could never afford!


Richmond actually held a palace (in now Richmond Park) and it was where Elizabeth I spent her last days.

...on a meander of the River Thames, with many parks and open spaces, including Richmond Park, and many protected conservation areas, which include much of Richmond Hill. A specific Act of Parliament protects the scenic view of the River Thames from Richmond. Richmond was founded following Henry VII's building of Richmond Palace in the 16th century, from which the town derives its name. During this era, the town and palace were particularly associated with Elizabeth I, who spent her last days there. During the 18th century, Richmond Bridge was completed, and many Georgian terraces were built, particularly around Richmond Green and on Richmond Hill. (Wikipedia)


The view is protected by an Act of Parliament! No wonder rich people wanted to live there.


We walked across the bridge into Twickenham and followed the road back to the tube station. We passed a grand, stately manor, Marble House, along the way. It served to remind me that I was in Merry Olde England, indeed. Twickenham was far more pedestrian and Adrian laughed and quipped, "you could always live here and walk to Richmond". We got on the tube and headed back to Notting Hill with visions of the posh life lingering in my head.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page